New officers installed for the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley

TEMECULA – The Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley held their 39th annual Installation Dinner, Sept. 26, at 8-Bit Brewery in Murrieta for the incoming officers of 2017-2018. Outgoing club president, Gregory Kind, who served two consecutive terms in that post, emceed the event, which was attended by more than 70 members, family and friends, including many who came specifically to honor the club’s incoming president, Tom Teagle.

Kind focused most of his remarks on the many programs and community-based organizations the Kiwanis Club supported during his tenure and praised the members for their service to the greater Temecula Valley area.

“We have many very dedicated Kiwanis members who devote significant time, effort and energy in support of Michelle’s Place, the Boys and Girls Club, Oak Grove, Rady Children’s Hospital, Cub Scouts, the Salvation Army, the Field of Honor, LifeStream Blood Bank, the city of Temecula and other local charitable organizations,” Kind said. “In addition, we raise significant funds to support 11 high school Key Clubs and provide scholarships to students at each high school.”

Lori Butler, the outgoing lieutenant governor for Kiwanis Division 37 to which the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley belongs, also spoke at the Installation Dinner. Butler was complimentary of Greg Kind’s service as president, and heaped praise on the entire club for their commitment to the mission and ideals of Kiwanis International. She also dismissed the outgoing officers and directors and installed the incoming officers and board members.

Teagle will serve as club president starting Oct. 1. Additional officers include: Lynn Effinger, president-elect; James Stead, secretary; Peggy Moore, treasurer and Steve Yung, assistant treasurer. Gregory Kind will serve as Immediate Past President. The newly installed board of directors includes Grant Thurman, Ken Ray, Chuck Skaggs, Dale Qualm, David Gibbs, Debbie Hartman, Paul Rieker and Rich Connington. Brandy Baez Colon and Paul Rieker will serve as alternate directors.

In addition to swearing in the new officers, Capt. Hayes of Cal-Fire accepted the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley’s Jimmy Moore Citizen of the Year Award on behalf of all those firefighters who help to keep citizens and their properties safe from fire. Effinger, who also serves as membership committee chair, was named Kiwanian of the Year for his contributions to the club’s community service efforts. The President’s Award was given to Tom Teagle for his exemplary service as a member of the club and for serving as president-elect over the past two years.

Following the awards ceremonies, incoming President Teagle addressed the audience and built on the remarks made by Kind and Butler, adding personal comments about how honored and humbled he is to have been elected to this position.

“As President, I expect to be a facilitator, as well as a club leader,” Teagle said. “It is the ideas and efforts of all of our members that will continue to make our Kiwanis Club one of the strongest in Division 37, and I will do all I can to support those ideas and efforts.”

Kiwanis is a global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time. The Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley is focused on serving the needs of their community with emphasis on children.

For information about the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley, visit or call Lynn Effinger at (951) 514-5699.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.