2013-14 Outstanding Athletes of the Year honored; four scholarships awarded – Eleven Valley Schools Receive Sportsmanship Awards

The Citrus Belt Area Athletic Directors Association (CBAADA) honored 168 male and female athletes from its 84 member schools and fourteen member leagues this past Monday, May 12th, at an awards breakfast held at Cal Baptist University in Riverside.

Each school selected their Athlete of the Year on the basis of athletic achievement, academic excellence, school and community service, and character. Each Athlete of the Year received a certificate and a patch.

CIF Southern Section Commissioner Rob Wigod gave a short welcome address acknowledging this time to celebrate “’the cream of the crop’ for their hard work, dedication, and example to others.”

A new School Sportsmanship Award was announced and eleven Valley schools were among the twenty-three schools inaugural recipients: Chaparral, Great Oak, Heritage, Lakeside, Murrieta Mesa, Murrieta Valley, Paloma Valley, Perris, Temecula Valley, Temescal Canyon, and Vista Murrieta.

In addition to the twenty-four athletes named from the Southwestern and Sunbelt Leagues, four Valley athletes were among the ten recipients of a $500 scholarship awarded by the CBAADA; and for the first time ever, two were from the same school. One hundred and two student-athletes applied for the scholarships.

Jasmine Garcia, a soccer player from Lakeside High, will be majoring in microbiology at San Diego State University. Davis Peralta, from Elsinore High, played three sports: football, basketball, and track. He will be attending the University of Redlands to study physics and mechanical engineering. Sarah Spencer from Temecula Valley High, played volleyball and soccer. She will be studying biology at Colorado Mesa. Parker Yocum, also from Temecula Valley High, will be wrestling and studying law at BYU.

At the conclusion of the awards ceremony, student-athletes were urged to seek out the special people who helped shape their character and helped them achieve their success. “You didn’t get here all by yourself.”

Congratulations to this year’s Athletes of the Year!


Chaparral Cheyenne Coger Tennis

John Baron Football, Soccer

Great Oak Cadie Bates Volleyball

Cole Dreschler Soccer

Murrieta Mesa Emily Buechler Cross-country, Soccer, Track

Davian Neitz Football, Basketball, Track

Murrieta Valley Paige Virgil Water Polo

Kevin Padlo Football, Basketball

Temecula Valley Sarah Spencer Volleyball

Parker Yocum Football, Wrestling

Vista Murrieta Kasey Calderon Volleyball

Aaron Ruth Football, Basketball, Baseball


Elsinore Hailey Price Tennis, Water Polo, Track

Tommy Wilson Football, Basketball, Baseball

Heritage Nichole Chilson Tennis, Softball

Alejandro Castellanos Cross-country, Track

Lakeside Kiana Williams Basketball

Ricky Ruiz Soccer, Football

Paloma Valley Kailee Smith Softball

Ramon Benz Football, Soccer, Track

Perris Summer Traylor Cross-country, Soccer, Track

Osvaldo Majia Cross Country, Track

Temescal Canyon Ashley Michalski Volleyball, Basketball, Softball

Chris Rested Wrestling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.