Temecula Valley experiences tourism industry growth; new executive board elected

TEMECULA – Comprised of Temecula Valley business leaders, the newly elected members of the Executive Board of the Temecula Valley Convention & Visitors Bureau (TVCVB) were recently inducted. Having experienced 453.5 percent* growth over the past decade, the local travel-and-tourism industry generates nearly $600 million* annually into the local economy, and supports approximately 6,200* local jobs with earnings of $180 million.

“As part of the TVCVB governing body, we respectfully welcome our new Executive Board and look forward to the perspective provided by their wealth of experience and variety of backgrounds,” said Kimberly Adams, TVCVB president and CEO.

The new TVCVB 2013 Executive Board members were elected to serve one-year terms. Chairman of the Board, is Ken Westmyer (Quality Inn, TID** Lodging). First Vice Chairman, Cherise Manning (A Grape Escape Balloon Adventure, Hot Air Ballooning), and First Vice Chairman-TID**, Tom Demott (Temecula Creek Inn, TID** Lodging). As 2nd Vice Chairman is Craig Puma (The Bank-Mexican Restaurant, Restaurant). Bill Wilson (Wilson Creek Winery, Large Winery) is Treasurer; Melody Brunsting, (Melody’s Ad Works, Marketing) is Secretary.

“Travel-and-tourism growth and local non-resident spending create and sustain local jobs and family-owned-and-operated businesses across a broad variety of economic sectors: restaurants, retail shops and stores, wineries and winery tasting rooms, golf courses, hot air balloon companies, tour and transportation companies, wedding planners, photographers, hotels, resorts, and others,” Adams explained. “In example, visitors spend $223 million* annually on arts, entertainment, and recreation; $99 million* on restaurant food and beverage; $68 million* in retail sales; and $58 million* on accommodations.”

Recently re-elected for three-year terms (2013-2015) to the TVCVB Board of Directors are Kym Espinosa (Promenade Temecula, Retail Destination); Denis Ferguson (Net Results Hospitality & Development Group, Inc., Hospitality); Cherise Manning (A Grape Escape Balloon Adventure, Hot Air Ballooning); and Craig Puma (The Bank-Mexican Restaurant, Restaurant).

The TVCVB Board also includes: Grant Channing (Pechanga Resort & Casino, Pechanga); Krissie Guerra (Springhill Suites by Marriott, TID** Lodging); John Kelliher (The Grapeline Wine Country Shuttle, Transportation); Kunal Khandwala (Holiday Inn Express, TID** Lodging); Ben Kulak (Embassy Suites Hotel, TID** Lodging); Carlos Palma (Palomar Inn Hotel, TID** Lodging); Robert Renzoni (Robert Renzoni Vineyards, Small Winery); Mario Robles-Richmond (Triple R Sports, Sports & Recreation); Bill Seltzer (Temecula Valley Golf School, Golf); Jan Smith (Inland Management Group, Tourism Consulting); and Nadine Steddom (Hampton Inn & Suites, TID** Lodging).

The TVCVB’s Temecula Valley Visitors Center in Downtown Old Town Temecula (Third Street and Mercedes, adjacent Temecula Civic Center) is open 7 days. For visitor information and assistance, call (951) 491-6085.

*Source: September 2012 – “Temecula Valley Travel Impacts, 2000-2011” prepared for Temecula Valley Convention & Visitors Bureau by Dean Runyan Associates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.