CIF Baseball: Temecula Valley overpowers Cajon 7-3 – Pitcher Jared Morton Lassos the Cowboys in Relief

The Golden Bears survived a last inning two out rally to defeat the Cajon Cowboys 7-3 and advance to the first round of the Ford CIF SS Division 2 Playoffs. Jared Morton came in to relieve Burke Mitchell in the fifth and shut out the Cowboys for two and a half innings to earn the save. He was named player of the game by Coach Tony Nobiensky.

Morton cruised through the fifth, sixth and had two outs in the seventh when he ran into trouble. The Cowboys loaded the bases and had the tying run at the plate when Cajon shortstop Brandon Becker drilled a ball that Temecula’s Kyle Plantier fielded and turned into the game ending double play.

The Golden Bears played flawless defense in the game and had two incredible run saving catches by left fielder Jordon Gardner and centerfielder Drew Seelman.

The Golden Bears got on the board in the first inning, scoring twice on doubles by David Maldonado, Kyle Plantier and AJ Sawyer. Temecula Valley struck again in the third to bring two runs home. Seelman doubled and was driven in by Plantier with a single. Mitch Kemp then drove Sawyer who had reached on a fielder’s choice home with a double in the gap.

Temecula Valley engineered a two out three run rally in the fifth after the Cowboys had scored twice to close the gap to 4-3in their half of the inning. The Golden Bears got three consecutive singles by Kemp, Samari Buchanan and Alec Garrett resulting in the first run. Nick Juhl walked to load the bases bringing up Jordon Gardener. Gardener stroked a single to right driving in Buchanan and Garrett.

The Golden Bears will travel to Cypress on Thursday to play the Centurions in round one of the CIF SS playoffs. Cypress is 20-9 overall this season and were the Empire league Champions with a 10-2 record.

Great Oak and Vista Murrieta are also representing the Southwestern League in the tournament. The Broncos host Bellflower and Great Oak is home against Tustin Thursday. All games begin at 3:30pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.