Lee, Gibson, Masarani win Fallbrook Fall Junior Satellite divisions

Temecula tennis players Raymond Lee, Andy Gibson and Michael Masarani won division championships at the 33rd Annual Fallbrook Fall Junior Satellite Tournament which was played September 8-10 at the Fallbrook Tennis Club.

Lee won two division championships; he teamed with Gibson to win the Boys 18 Doubles title and was also the Boys 18 Singles champion. Masarani won the Boys 12 Singles division.

Lee and Gibson faced the Temecula duo of Henry Dong and Louis Leavitt in the Boys 18 Doubles final. Lee and Gibson won the 6-3 first set. The second set was tied at six games apiece, so a tiebreaking game to seven points was played and Gibson and Lee prevailed in that 7-2 game.

The Boys 18 Singles division utilized a round-robin format. A 6-3, 6-4 win over Temecula’s Nicolo Villasis and a default victory against La Jolla’s David Pretorius gave Lee the championship.

Masarani won the Boys 12 Singles division with a 6-4, 6-2 win over Carlsbad’s Connor Zielinski in the final.

Gibson reached the Boys 16 finals and took Oceanside’s Nathan Buturla to three sets. Buturla was the winner of the 6-2 first set, and Gibson came back to win the second set six games to four. A tiebreaking game to ten points constituted the third set, and Buturla prevailed in that 10-8 game.

Canyon Lake’s Keeley Arendt reached the Girls 16 Singles championship match although she lost that 6-2, 6-1 competition to Oceanside’s Lucia Farmer.

The Fallbrook Fall Junior Satellite Tournament has a consolation bracket to ensure that each player can participate in at least two matches, and four Temecula players won consolation championships. Brandon Rudisill defeated Dong in a pair of 6-2 sets to win the Boys 16 Singles consolation championship. Carley Chen won the Girls 16 Singles consolation final, taking 6-0 and 6-2 sets against Menifee’s Averi Graves. Cindy Chu won the Girls 14 Singles consolation championship with a 6-4, 6-0 victory over Alexandra Guadarrama of Fallbrook.

Eric Robbins was the Boys 12 Singles consolation champion after persevering in a three-set final with Teegan Roybal of San Marcos. The tiebreaking game must be won by at least two points, and an 8-6 victory in that tiebreaker gave Robbins a 7-6 triumph in the first set. Roybal prevailed in the 6-4 second set. Robbins won the match with a 10-7 victory in the third-set game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.