Temecula Valley dominates Southwestern League Wrestling Finals

Southwestern League Finals were held at Murrieta Valley High School on Saturday, Feb.2. Temecula Valley had six weight class winners; Chaparral had four; Great Oak had three; and Murrieta Valley had one.

Weight Class winners were: 106 – Christian Root (TV); 113 – Frankie Sandoval (TV); 120 – Will Bitoni (Chap); 126 – Joshy Cortez (TV); 132 – Dylan Garcia (Chap); 138—Kyler Phillips (TV); 145 — Carter Armendarez (GO); 152 – Andrew Smith (TV); 160 – Bradley Christiansen (Chap); 170 – Jacob Bailey (GO); 182 – Parker Yocum (TV); 195 – Nick Johnson (MV; 220 – Shane Gonzales (GO); Heavyweight – Matt McCullough (Chap).

The top three in each weight class advance to CIF, Inland Division Championships; the fourth is an alternate. In addition to its six weight class winners, Temecula Valley also had twelve qualifiers; Chaparral and Great Oak had nine.

106: Aaron Nakoney (Chap), Allen Manalili (VM). Alt: Tyler Varzeas (GO).

113: Jake Jimenez (Chap), Kyle Takahama VM). Alt: Anthony Nielsen (GO).

120: Trevor Wells (Mesa), Christian Mateos (TV). Alt: Mike Gonzales (MV).

126: Julian Clay (Chap), Christian Pamlengi (Mesa). Alt: Christian Luchugo (GO).

132: Jacob Mike (GO), Ian Mowatt (VM). Alt: Gabe Perez (MV).

138: Warren Bringhurst (Chap), John Yosingas (GO). Alt: Jesse Lazo (Mesa).

145: Leo Mendez (TV), Anthony Rodriguez (Chap). Alt: Taylor Gratrix (VM).

152: Carson Hinckley (Chap), Jeremiah Bailey (GO). Alt: Justin Butler (MV).

160: Kyle Barnett (GO), Trevor Clarke (TV). Alt: Kai D’Amico (MV).

170: William Atwell (TV), Taylor Domico (MV). Alt: Wyatt Patterson (VM).

182: Alex Ballesteros (GO), Jake Roper (VM). Alt: Joprdan Garrett (Chap).

195: Noah Collins (TV), Mike Colello (GO). Alt: Jacob Lista (Chap).

220: Alex Gonzales (VM), Anthony Cosio (TV). Alt: Matt Grieb (Chap).

HWT: Jacob Van Hulzen (MV), Westen Partee (GO). Alt: Justin Sattlemaier (TV).

“On Friday and Saturday, Feb. 15 and 16, six Divisional Championship meets will be conducted for the purpose of determining the 2012-13 CIF Southern Section Individual Wrestling Champions, as well as Masters Meet qualifiers,” according to the CIF Bulletin, Jan. 11.

The Inland Division Championships will be held at Los Osos High School, 6001 Milliken Avenue in Rancho Cucamonga. There will be three entries per league at each weight class for a total of 24; five qualify at each weight to go to the Masters Meet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.