All-CIF teams announced for girls’ volleyball

Linfield Christian High School’s Paige Williams (9) was named the CIF-SS Division 6 girls’ volleyball Player of the Year. Valley News/David Canales photo

‘Tis the season for the Southern Section offices of the California Interscholastic Federation to announce the names for those top student athletes that made the All-CIF teams for their prospective programs. As selected by the Girls’ Volleyball Coaches’ Selection Committee and presented by the LA84 Foundation, this list represents the athletes that were awarded the honor of being a First Team selection from the fall sports high school girls’ volleyball season.

Linfield Christian High School’s Paige Williams and Cornerstone Christian High School’s Luciana Villafana both received player of the year honors as the CIF Southern Section released its girls’ volleyball awards last week. Also topping the list is Linfield Christian’s Eric Hawes, who was among those that received division coach of the year honors.

Williams, a 6-foot-1 senior middle blocker, was chosen the player of the year in Division 6 for helping the Lions win their second consecutive section crown. Williams finished with 246 kills and 103 total blocks. She raised her game in the playoffs, averaging 3.7 kills per set while hitting at a .655 clip. Williams had 15 kills and 11 blocks in the title match against Nordhoff High School.

Villafana, a 5-foot-10 senior outside hitter, was selected the player of the year in Division 9 after helping the Crusaders win the first section title in the school’s history. Villafana averaged 4.2 kills per set with a .404 attacking percentage this season. She had 13 kills in the title match against Avalon High School.

 Other local girls’ volleyball players included on the list were announced as follows:

DIVISION 1 – First Team: Chloe Scheer, Vista Murrieta, Sr., L

DIVISION 2 – First Team: Kimberly DeBoer, Murrieta Valley, Sr., S; Rachael Yelenich, Murrieta Valley, Sr., OH

DIVISION 3 – First Team: Gabrielle Hollins, Paloma Valley, Sr., OH; Lizzy Markovska, Paloma Valley, Sr., OH, Jayde Shelton, Paloma Valley, Sr., Opp

DIVISION 4 – First Team: Mia Adkins, Hemet, Sr., S

DIVISION 5 – No local players

DIVISION 6 – Player of the Year: Paige Williams, Linfield Christian, Sr., MB; Coach of the Year: Eric Hawes, Linfield Christian; First Team: Devin Sivertson, Linfield Christian, Sr., S; Sarah Newman, Linfield Christian, Sr., OH

DIVISION 7 – First Team: Amirah Ali, Rancho Christian, Jr., OH

DIVISION 8 – First Team: Kassidy Aguilar, California Lutheran, Sr., S

DIVISION 9 – Player of the Year: Luciana Villafana, Cornerstone Christian, Sr., OH; First Team: Alex Sotello, Cornerstone Christian, Jr., S-OH; Shyla Carter, Cornerstone Christian, Sr., S; Amy Michalak, Temecula Prep, Sr., S; Chloe Mata, Temecula Prep, Sr.

JP Raineri can be reached by email at