The CIF-Southern Section offices recently announced the playoff division pairings for the 2020-2021 girls’ water polo teams. Since mid-March, all high school sports activities in the state have been shut down because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Division 1 and Division 2 are not split up at this time, but it looks like Murrieta Valley High School will once again represent the Division 1 group. The Nighthawks have been the Southwestern League champions for quite a few years in a row now and will be looking to dominate again this year. Murrieta Mesa High School, who came in second in the Southwestern League last season will be in Division 3, along with Temescal Canyon High School. The remainder of the Southwestern League teams will be in Division 4, except for Chaparral High School teams, which find themselves in Division 6.

With the recent release of the CIF-SS girls water polo playoff division pairings for the 2020-2021 school year, Murrieta Valley High School will be in Division 1 and Murrieta Mesa High School will be in Division 3. Valley News/Courtesy photo

As the new proposed fall season does indeed approach quickly, here is the remainder of the breakdown for the proposed playoff division pairings for the high school’s that are inside the Valley News coverage area as of Sept. 20.

Divisional Playoff groupings

Girls’ Water Polo

Division 1/2: Murrieta Valley

Division 3: Murrieta Mesa, Temescal Canyon

Division 4: Elsinore, Great Oak, Lakeside, Temecula Valley, Vista Murrieta

Division 5: No local teams.

Division 6: Chaparral, Hemet, Paloma Valley, Tahquitz, West Valley

Division 7: Heritage, Perris,

JP Raineri can be reached by email at