High school speedball team heads to France for World championships

For the first time, the United State of America will have a team, comprised of local players to the Temecula Valley, participate at the 31st World Speedball Championship held in Montauban, France. Courtesy photo.

Just weeks after becoming the first American high school to start a club for the nation’s newest upcoming sport, Murrieta Mesa will be sending a Speedball team to compete in France at the end of October. This marks the first time ever that the United States will participate in this event, which is now in its 31st year. This year the World Speedball Championship will be held in Montauban, France.

The Delegation will head to France Wednesday, October 23, and will be part of the competition and return home October 29. The president of the American Federation of Speedball, Mr. Waleid Hanna, has selected the American Speedball team which will compete as the first American Delegation.

The team will consist of 8 players, six of whom are from Murrieta Mesa High School, which includes Erin Shaffer, Emily Phillips, Emma Lee, Victor Porras, Giovanni Hanna, and Matthew Munoz. Jolie Hanna, from Temecula Valley Charter School and Moheb Beshay, from San Diego State University, will also compete with the team from Murrieta Mesa.

Supervising the trip and accompanying the team will be Waleid Hanna, the president of the American Federation, Mrs. Amy Leigh Vollmar the Head of the Delegation (Murrieta Mesa High School), and Mrs. Sherin Hanna the Executive Director.

“We are thankful to Murrieta Mesa High School Principal Steve Ellis and Club Advisor, Amy Leigh Vollmar,” says Mr. Hanna. “These two individuals are helping this sport to become a reality in America.”

For more info on this new amazing sport check out the website at www.speedballusa.com