Perris Auto Speedway fans best sprint car driver challenge

race cars
Racers at Perris Auto Speedway. Valley News/Doug Allen photo

PERRIS – While Perris Auto Speedway’s historic 25th season is currently on hold due to the coronavirus crisis, there is still some competition emanating from the offices of Riverside County’s half-mile clay oval. Fans are encouraged to vote on the track’s Facebook page for who they think is the best sprint car driver in track history.

Eight drivers will be paired off in the opening round.  The winner of each first round match up will then move on to a pair of semifinals.  The victors of the semifinals will then square off to determine who the fans think is the best sprint car driver in PAS history. Each round will last two days.

The criteria for seeding the drivers came from the total amount of wins racked up in the SCRA Series from 1996 through 2003 and the USAC/CRA Series from 2004 until the end of 2019.

The drivers are Cory Kruseman, Damion Gardner, Rip Williams, Tony Jones, Mike Spencer, Mike Kirby, Richard Griffin and Rickie Gaunt.

The Round 1 pairings are Cory Kruseman versus Rickie Gaunt, Damion Gardner versus Richard Griffin, Tony Jones versus Mike Spencer and Rip Williams versus Mike Kirby,

For fans who would like to vote, visit Perris Auto Speedway on Facebook.

Once racing resumes, tickets for all PAS events will be available 24-hours a day by calling 1-800-595-4849 or online at For fans who do not wish to buy tickets in advance, there will be plenty available for everyone at the ticket window on race night.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the SoCal Fair and Event Center, home of October’s Southern California Fair. For directions on MapQuest, the address to enter is: 18700 Lake Perris Drive and the ZIP code is 92571.

For more information, visit Perris Auto Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram or at

Submitted by Perris Auto Speedway.