South Valley League Fall Sports All-League selections

Temecula Prep High School’s Patrick Warren (44) and Lucas Marquette were just two of the almost 40 local players selected to represent the South Valley League as First or Second Team All-League honorees. Valley News/AC Sports photo

The South Valley League coaches and athletic directors recently met to recognize the local student athletes from the fall season that have garnished All-League honors for their tremendous game play. Here are the South Valley League’s fall sports honorees for the 2019 season:


Most Valuable Player, Offense: Joseph Milner, California Military Institute, Sr.

Most Valuable Player, Defense: Brandon Baker, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Tyler Bourgeois, Temecula Prep

Lineman of the Year: Adrian Ruiz, California Military Institute, Sr.

Kicker of the Year: Joel Wold, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.

First team: Ben Sweeton, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Josh Varnell, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Gerry Brown, Cornerstone Christian, Jr.; Louis Duong, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Chris Waite, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Joseph Campbell, Cornerstone Christian, Jr.; Kevin Mark, California Military Institute, Sr.; Sonny Sotelo, California Military Institute, Sr.; Luis Sosa, California Military Institute, Sr.; Jesus Lopez, California Military Institute, Jr.; John Costelen, California Military Institute, So.; Ian Frank, Santa Rosa Academy, Jr.; Jacob Munstock, Santa Rosa Academy, Sr.; Timothy Marlow, Santa Rosa Academy, Jr.; Luke Adams, Santa Rosa Academy, So.; Joseph Watson, Temecula Prep, Sr.; Ben Littlefield, Temecula Prep, Jr.; Lucas Marquette, Temecula Prep, Sr.; Ethan Choe, Nuview Bridge, Jr.; Joey Choe, Nuview Bridge, Jr.; Luis Martinez, Hamilton, Jr.; Clayton Tuttle, Sherman Indian, Jr.

Second team: James White, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Sebastian Francescon, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Ian Smith, Cornerstone Christian, Sr.; Jason Rosas, Cornerstone Christian, So.; Michael Marin, California Military Institute, Sr.; William Gray, California Military Institute, Sr.; Gabriel Preciado, California Military Institute, Jr.; Faustino Gonzales, California Military Institute, Sr.; Rowan Womber, Santa Rosa Academy, Jr.; Isaac Felix, Santa Rosa Academy, Sr.; Caden Frutos, Santa Rosa Academy, Jr.; Patrick Warren, Temecula Prep, Sr.; Cameron Bourgeois, Temecula Prep, Sr.; Joey Miller, Nuview Bridge, So.


Most Valuable Player, Offense: Amy Michalak, Temecula Prep

Most Valuable Player, Defense: Arianna Madrid, Santa Rosa Academy

Coach of the Year: Don Reyes, Temecula Prep

Amy Michalak of the Temecula Prep High School girls’ varsity volleyball team (12, far right) was named the MVP of the South Valley League. Courtesy photo

First team: Chloe Mata, Temecula Prep; Caitlin Vogt, Temecula Prep; Sienna Miles, Temecula Prep; Kalia Anady, San Jacinto Valley Academy; McKenna Anaday, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Genevieve Mezamartinez, Santa Rosa Academy; Shaylene Sanchez, Nuview Bridge; Marianne Garcia, Saint Jeanne de Lestonnac.

Second team: Sanam Tokhi, Temecula Prep; Maycee Bainum, Temecula Prep; Tatiana McPhatter, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Kayla Bird, Santa Rosa Academy; Celeste Robledo, Nuview Bridge; Emily Bosich, Saint Jeanne de Lestonnac.


Most Valuable Player, Boys: Shawn Eggers, Santa Rosa Academy

Most Valuable Player, Girls: Karley Eggers, Santa Rosa Academy

Coach of the Year: Kevin Smith, Nuview Bridge

First team, boys: Joshua Sainz, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Shawn Eggers, Santa Rosa Academy; Emmanual Green, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Gabriel Benitez, Temecula Prep; Tyrell Robinson, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Samuel Calderon, Nuview Bridge.

First team, girls: Karley Eggers, Santa Rosa Academy; Grace Martinez, Nuview Bridge; Rebekah Block, Nuview Bridge; Brianna Marin, California Military Institute; Diana Castaneda, California Military Institute; Joselyn Dominguez, California Military Institute.

Second team, boys: Bryce Bowen, Santa Rosa Academy; Hunter Erbacher, Santa Rosa Academy; Daniel Baca, Nuview Bridge; Jayson Orozco, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Rivaldo Jaurigue, Nuview Bridge; Miguel Manzo, Nuview Bridge.

Second team, girls: Katelyn Balderas, Temecula Prep; Jolynne Orozco, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Ximena Olvera, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Sierra Hagen, San Jacinto Valley Academy; Portia Calogero, Temecula Prep, Jr.; Jenny Olivares Garcia, Nuview Bridge.

JP Raineri can be reached by email at