COLLEEN LONG, MICHAEL BALSAMO and AAMER MADHANI Associated Press WASHINGTON (AP) — President Donald Trump announced Saturday that the United States will broaden its European travel ban, adding the United Kingdom and Ireland to its list, and was considering imposing restrictions on travel within the U.S. to areas hit hard by the coronavirus spread. Under the restrictions on European travel, American citizens, green card holders and others are still allowed to return home to the U.S., but will be funneled to 13 airports and be subjected to health screenings and quarantine orders. "If you don't have to travel, I wouldn't do it," Trump said. The new restrictions came as in Britain, the death toll nearly doubled from the day before to 21, and the number of people infected rose to over 1
Subscribe or log in to read the rest of this content.