Before the crisis surrounding COVID-19, the Southwestern League boys’ soccer coaches

Chaparral High School senior Aboubacar Cisse was selected as the Southwestern League Offensive MVP. Valley News/Erin Lancaster photo

and David Reisinger, athletic director of Chaparral High School, met to go over the selections for the First and Second All-League teams. The first-place team always hosts the meeting with their school’s athletic director, which went the way of the Pumas, this year.

Based on where the SWL team placed also determines how many selections that team will get. Chaparral showcased a co-MVP in the Defense category, junior Tyler Rourke, and the MVP on Offense, which was senior Aboubacar Cisse. Vista Murrieta High School’s Jacob Nichols was the other Defensive MVP, selected for his outstanding year with the Broncos.

The All-Southwestern League boys’ soccer teams consist of 27 local players from the area, including Great Oak High School’s Gavin Valenzuela (7). Valley News/Annette Saenz photo

With their first-place finish, Chaparral was also granted eight selections overall (4 First Team, 4 Second Team). Vista Murrieta received six selections (3 First Team, 3 Second Team), Temecula Valley High School took four selections (2 First Team, 2 Second Team) and Murrieta Mesa, Great Oak and Murrieta Valley high schools all received two selections each (1 First Team, 1 Second Team).

Offensive MVP: Aboubacar Cisse, 12 – Chaparral

Defensive MVP: Tyler Rourke, 11 – Chaparral; Jacob Nichols, 12 – Vista Murrieta

FIRST TEAM: Andrew Portis, 12 – Chaparral; Travis Caplan               , 10 – Chaparral; Diego Garcia, 11 – Chaparral; Josh Romero Flores, 11 – Chaparral; Isaiah Thomas, 12 – Vista Murrieta; Manny Chavez, 12 – Vista Murrieta; Alejandro Alfaro, 11 – Vista Murrieta; Steven Cassaro, 12 – Temecula Valley; Julian Caratolo, 11 – Temecula Valley; Jonathan Castenada, 12 – Great Oak; Noah Andersen, 11 – Murrieta Mesa; Trevor Reese, 12 – Murrieta Valley.

SECOND TEAM: Carlos Elizondo Olguin, 11 – Chaparral; Gavin Mendoza, 11 – Chaparral; Michael Gonzales, 12 – Chaparral; Chris Bruton, 10 – Chaparral; Reed Shaffer, 12 – Vista Murrieta; Gabe Sanchez, 11 – Vista Murrieta; Cole Walker, 9 – Vista Murrieta; Kadin Winspear, 12 – Temecula Valley; Malachi Drago, 12 – Temecula Valley; Gavin Valenzuela              , 12 – Great Oak; Jaydon Doyle, 12 – Murrieta Mesa; Octavio Villalobos, 12 – Murrieta Valley.

JP Raineri can be reached by email at