Naggar bids Temecula City Council farewell after 22 years; Stewart, Alexander sworn in

Maryann Edwards will serve as mayor in 2021 with Matt Rahn as mayor pro tem

File photo
A longtime council member walked off the dais for the last time, a former mayor was back in council chambers and a newly-elected councilwoman took her seat at Temecula City Hall Dec. 8.The Temecula City Council’s final meeting of 2020 was one for the books, marking Councilman Mike Naggar’s farewell to city government after 22 straight years on the council. James “Stew” Stewart, the Temecula mayor who resigned in June over an email that many described as racist but which he has always maintained was a result of a typo, also took the oath of office at the meeting, as did incoming Councilwoman Jessica Alexander, who won the city council district Naggar chose not to run for re-election in.The council also selected Maryann Edwards as mayor and Matt Rahn as mayor pro tem at the m
Subscribe or log in to read the rest of this content.