This past girls’ lacrosse season was nothing short of spectacular for the Southwestern League, with Temecula Valley’s historic Division 3 title win and Murrieta Mesa perfect 10-0 record in the league, marking their fourth consecutive undefeated season. Maintaining a flawless 40-0 league record over four years is an astounding achievement and solidifies the Ram’s legacy as back-to-back-to-back-to-back Southwestern League Champions.

Murrieta Mesa’s Rilie Tul was named the Southwestern League Offensive MVP for the 2024 season. Valley News/Courtesy photo

Murrieta Mesa celebrated their first-ever appearance in the Division 1 CIF playoffs, with a packed home stadium cheering them on during a thrilling 14-12 victory over Santa Margarita in Round 1. Although they fell short in the Quarter Finals against the number one seed, Foothill, the season remains historic. Andrea Hartman, from Murrieta Mesa, also broke the school record for most caused turnovers in a season, adding to the list of incredible performances this year.

“I couldn’t be prouder of this team,” exclaimed Molly Sovacool, head coach for the Rams, in a heartfelt post online. “I’m sad to see our seniors leave, but this team has made history.”

It’s time to honor the outstanding players who have been named to the 2024 SWL Girls Lacrosse All-League teams for their exceptional performances and contributions to their teams:

Offensive MVP: Rilie Tul (12th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Defensive MVP: Abby Brant (12th grade, Chaparral HS)

Chaparral’s Abby Brant was named the Southwestern League Defensive MVP for the 2024 season. Valley News/Courtesy photo

First Team

Ava Chaput (11th grade, Murrieta Valley HS)

Aubrey Chang (11th grade, Temecula Valley HS)

Malia Fox (11th grade, Chaparral HS)

Julia Canela (11th grade, Chaparral HS)

Katie Holdstein (12th grade, Chaparral HS)

Alana Elliott (12th grade, Vista Murrieta HS)

Riley Jarrett (12th grade, Vista Murrieta HS)

Amanda Schlesener (12th grade, Vista Murrieta HS)

Aubrey Olson (12th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Olivia Garate (10th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Andrea Hartman (11th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Grace Hamm (11th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Second Team:

Vanessa Flexen (11th grade, Vista Murrieta HS)

Daniella Flexen (12th grade, Vista Murrieta HS)

Nicole Grending (12th grade, Vista Murrieta HS)

Kelsey Lurkins (12th grade, Temecula Valley HS)

Cameron Brown (12th grade, Chaparral HS)

Taylor Waters (12th grade, Chaparral HS)

Myla Igoe (12th grade, Chaparral HS)

Kami Cornelison (11th grade, Murrieta Valley HS)

Sarah Gereda (12th grade, Great Oak HS)

Reagan Oberheu (12th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Mikaila Stone (12th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Ava Mullen (12th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Brooklyn Dao (11th grade, Murrieta Mesa HS)

Info provided by each head coach from the Southwestern League but approved overall by the athletic director from the first-place team. If a name is improperly spelled, submit info and updates to

JP Raineri
JP Raineri

JP is an award-winning multimedia journalist, and head of the Sports Department for the Valley News. Over his time in the Temecula Valley, JP, a former Southwestern League head baseball coach, was also an on-air radio personality at Q103.3, KATY 101.3, Hot 103.9, and was a television host for the Outdoor Channel. When not covering local, or national sports, JP also serves as an Associate Baseball Scout with NSR.