Haiden wins SuperMotocross World Championship

TEMECULA — Former Supercross winner and freestyle motocross champion, Brian Deegan, knows exactly how his son Haiden feels after winning an exciting race inside Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum this past weekend. Brian and his wife, Marissa Deegan, who all reside in Temecula, share three children, Hailie, Haiden and Hudson.

Hudson, who isn’t quite of age to be a professional athlete yet, does spends his time training on his dirt bike and Hailie drives stock cars professionally and races full-time in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. So, the Deegan’s know a little something about making it in the world of motor sports. Having over a million followers on social media says a lot too. And now, the world has seen the entrance of Temecula’s Haiden Deegan, who rode his Yamaha to a win in the inaugural SuperMotocross World Championship held Saturday night, Sept. 23, at the historic Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

Haiden Deegan, in his rookie year, notched a World Championship with a strong and smart ride at the season’s Final and took home a $500,000 bonus. Valley News/David Canales photo

The Coliseum held the first ever Superbowl of Motocross back on July 8, 1972, so it was only proper to bring the Championship back to the place where it all began. The event will re-air twice, first on Sunday, Sept. 24, at 4 p.m. ET on NBC and then on Monday, Sept. 25, at 1 a.m. ET on CNBC.

Notable on the night, Jett Lawrence moved from the 250 Class to the 450 Class mid-season after winning the 2023 Western Regional 250SX Class title; he won the World Championship in his 450 Class rookie year. Similarly, Haiden Deegan was in his rookie pro racing season, and in fact started a few races into the Supercross season. Haiden Deegan also shares history now with his father, who earned a Supercross win and landed the first 360 freestyle motocross jump both inside the storied stadium.

With the SuperMotocross World Champions crowned and the full 2023 purse of $10 million dollars paid out, race fans look ahead toward 2024 racing; the 17-round Monster Energy AMA Supercross season and 11-round AMA Pro Motocross season schedules have been released.

The inaugural SuperMotocross World Championship was held Saturday night, Sept. 23, at the historic Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. Valley News/David Canales photo

The 2024 Supercross ticket pre-sale begins Monday, October 3rd at 10 a.m. ET for preferred customers and will run through Monday, October 9th. On Tuesday, October 10th at 10 a.m. ET and then 10 a.m. in each subsequent time zone, tickets for all Supercross and Pro Motocross races will become available for sale to the public. For 2024 all Pro Motocross event ticketing will be done through Ticketmaster. Fans can find the race schedules, sign up for preferred access (Supercross), and make ticket purchases online at SupercrossLIVE.com and promotocross.com. The SMX World Championship Playoff and Final dates, locations, and venues will be announced at Round 1 in Anaheim in January.

All rounds in 2024 will be streamed live domestically on Peacock, while broadcast coverage will be shared between NBC, USA Network, and CNBC. Internationally, all rounds will be available to stream live and on-demand via the SuperMotocross Video Pass, available everywhere outside the U.S. Visit Peacock (Domestic) and SuperMotocross.tv (International) for details.

Jett Lawrence pushed hard to win the first-ever post-season race series and it’s $1,000,000 bonus. Valley News/David Canales photo

450SMX Class Championship Final Standings

  1. Jett Lawrence, Australia, Honda (163)
  2. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla. Suzuki (146)
  3. Chase Sexton, LaMoille, IL., Honda (126)
  4. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha (120)
  5. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, KTM (104)
  6. Adam Cianciarulo, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki (96)
  7. Garrett Marchbanks, Coalville, Utah, Yamaha (92)
  8. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.Mex., Kawasaki (91)
  9. Colt Nichols, Muskogee, OK, Kawasaki (90)
  10. Ty Masterpool, Paradise, Tex., Kawasaki (84)
In the 250smx division, Temecula’s Haiden Deegan (238) takes the track during the early stage of the 250 SMX Supercross Championship Race at the Los Angeles Colosseum Valley News/Andrez imaging

250SMX Class Championship Final Standings

  1. Haiden Deegan, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha (157)
  2. Jo Shimoda, Suzuka, Japan, Kawasaki (152)
  3. RJ Hampshire, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Husqvarna (122)
  4. Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Wash., Yamaha (114)
  5. Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Yamaha (110)
  6. Justin Cooper, Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y., Yamaha (101)
  7. Maximus Vohland, Granite Bay, Calif., KTM (98)
  8. Tom Vialle, France, KTM (90)
  9. Hunter Lawrence, Australia, Honda (89)
  10. Jalek Swoll, Belleview, Fla., Husqvarna (88)

SMX 250 World All Stars Result

  1. Drew Adams, Chattanooga, Tenn., Kawasaki
  2. Mark Fineis, Westfield, Ind., GASGAS
  3. Slade Varola, Simi Valley, Calif. Kawasaki
  4. Krystian Janik, Oak Lawn, Ill., Kawasaki
  5. Blake Gardner, Canyon Country, Calif., Kawasaki
  6. Preston Boespflug, Battle Ground, Wash., KTM
  7. Jaxon Pascal, Hudson, Colo. Honda
  8. Enzo Temmerman, Visalia, Calif., Kawasaki
  9. Noah Viney, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
  10. Dilon Blecha, Fruita, Colo., Yamaha

JP Raineri can be reached by email at sports@reedermedia.com.